I experienced a very pleasant surprise today.  Like many who enjoy adventures and motorcycles, a few years back I watched Ewan McGregor and Charley Boorman’s sequel to their ever-popular series “Long Way Round“: “Long Way Down“.  I’d highly recommend them if you haven’t seen them.  As amazing as their adventure was, I was far more taken aback by a cyclist they ran across one day.  As they rode their Beemers across the middle of the desert in Sudan – truly it looked to be in the middle of nowhere – they came across a cyclist peddling down the dusty road with gallons upon gallons of water in tow.  Obviously an unlikely traveler to bump in to, they stopped to talk with him for a while.   He revealed his name was Jason Lewis and he was spearheading an effort to circumnavigate the globe using nothing but human power!  He didn’t reveal too much in that quick spot on Long Way Down,  but obviously that herculean task must have resulted in an epic tale, I thought.  It took him 13 years to complete the journey;  that must have required a superhuman degree of commitment and determination.

About once a year I would comb the web trying to figure out why no one had made a movie, or written a book about Jason’s circumnavigation.  The search always ended up yielding no useful information.  Until today…

Imagine my surprise as I began the search again expecting the usual failure, but instead I found not not only is the story being written, but Jason has written it himself!  And it’s not just one book, it’s a trio of volumes; the first one is already published, the second is expected in September and the third in November.  From what I’ve gleaned these should be a riveting read.

And as if that wasn’t fantastic enough, a film is being made about it as well! I was amazed that when I watched the trailer on YouTube, it was only posted on August 2nd and I was the 82nd viewer in the whole wide world to see it.  I’m special!  Well maybe not🙂 but at least I got the first comment posted…

Go check it out!  Read the book!  See the movie when it comes out!  This is an almost-completely unknown event on the world stage, yet it is one of the most remarkable journeys ever undertaken by a human being.  Sorry Zack Snyder, I know you think you’re making a great Superman movie, but no matter how good it may be, I’m afraid the feats of fiction will never be able to astound like the feats of history: the journey of a real super man.