Well… here I am.

And none the worse for wear! I’m not going to pull any punches, though, by suggesting you watch this 60 meg movie about the Mars rover Spirit. It’s pretty much eye candy,and a heckuva download to boot, but it gives you a idea of what life as a rover is like. So you’re warned – it’s big and I think it takes the most recent version of Quicktime. What else do I have for you? Better click to find out!

I’m not normally one to do the forward thing, but this was an exception to the rule. My sister-in-law sent this to me. The caption read: “I believe in these difficult and mean-spirited times in which we live there needs to be a message of hope. Just a single image that speaks to us of love, harmony, peace and joy. An image that suggests the universal brotherhood of man. I have found that image, and I ask that all of you take a moment to be inspired by it. “

Moving right along; the question going around the blogsphere is: “How nerdy are you?” How nerdy is this blogger? Well, I can’t compete with some people I read like MarkCC, but I did okay😛

I am nerdier than 75% of all people. Are you nerdier? Click here to find out!

Do you dare take the challenge?!?! Now I must demonstrate nerdiness by linking to one of the funniest posts I’ve ever read. Will you even find it funny at all? Who can say…

And, as always, astronomy news. There are some new studies that shed light on the possibility of the formation of ‘Earth-like’ planets elsewhere in our galaxy. They are more probable than previously thought. Many of the planets we know of in other systems are known as Hot Jupiters. It was thought that their formation would preclude the existence of Earth-like planets. New simulations have shown that this is not necessarily the case. The good news? Since Hot Jupiters are easier to detect that other planets, we know that where we find them, there may be these “waterworlds” as well!