Since I’m still in the process of moving I don’t have time for much commentary, but here is some interesting reading for some of you (I hope).

First, in response to comments about the dark matter observation I linked to here, I realize some people may not be that familiar with the implications of cosmology.  For the curious I offer this excellent synopsis of the Big Bang.  Once you read through that you’ll get an idea of what dark matter is and why it was first postulated.  I also recommend reading the Big Band synopsis because it will address a lot of common misconceptions (several of which I held).

It will also cover the ideas behind dark energy.  The short story is not only is our universe expanding, the rate of expansion is increasing.  In other words, the expansion of the universe is accelerating.  And what could be causing that acceleration?  Dark energy is one of the proposals.  Once you’ve read that synopsis I’d suggest re-reading the dark matter release because he discusses another option for the increasing expansion: modified gravity. 

Enough astronomy?  What about life on other planets?  Well, Bling, I’m not going to answer that (since it can’t be answered with our present knowledge) but I will pass this on.  From a cosmological standpoint there no reason to think there is not other intelligent life out there.  From a theological perspective it is quite possible.  For an interesting supposition/illustration read C.S. Lewis’s Out of the Silent Planet.  It’s actually quite a fast read, and a very interesting one as well.

And, if you don’t have enough reading homework yet, I want to pass this on.  I can think of a couple of people that will enjoy this.  Here I’ve written about how we could reconcile Genesis 1-5 when we accept the conventional scientific understanding of the age of the Earth and the biological descent of all living things.  But there is another fantastical sounding account in Genesis: that is the story of the flood.

Can this story of Noah and the flood be placed as a historical event while not denying the reality of our planet’s geological history?  I think it can and this article does an excellent job of examining that question. 

If you enjoy it and want further discussion about how we’ve abused the Hebrew language (especially in Genesis), please read Genesis Unbound by John Sailhamer.  It returns to the story of creation and of Adam and Eve in the garden.  But Sailhamer strips away the interpretive baggage that has been attached to Genesis since the King James Bible, since the Textus Recepticus and even some things since the Septuagint.  What is left is an honest look at the Hebrew language with no Greek/European preconceptions.  The results are amazing.  That was the book that first made me realize that the YEC interpretation of Genesis is one of the most ‘un-literal’ interpretations available.  It is almost entirely built upon heavily-biased English translations.

That’s all for now, folks.  Have a great weekend!