I’m going to see if I can get that “ontological leap” post up this weekend. So, in the meantime, here are some time killers for you.

You’ve probably heard about the IAU proposing a “standard” definition of a planet. These bozos want to define it such that we will have 12 planets, instead of nine. And that’s not the worst part. By their definition every Kuiper object the size of Pluto (and there may be thousands of them) will also have to be considered a planet! This nonsense will be voted on next Thursday, I’ll follow up then.

Anyway, why do I bring this up? Now you know the background for this great clip of Steven Colbert interviewing astrophysicist Neil deGrasse Tyson.
And completely unrelated, one of my favorite internet personalities, Phil Plait the Bad Astronomer, linked to something unexpected: The Meuseum of Bad Art. I don’t get art, so bad art is a good place to start! Be warned ye of easily-offendedness. There are nudes in some of that art, so be careful what you click on!

One last thing. I just stumbled upon this guy at You Tube.  He’s a 79 year old veteran from England that just got into YouTube a couple of weeks ago.  If you have half an hour to kill I’d recommend checking his stuff out!   It’s almost surreal (apologies, Krime).  The mixture of honesty, pathos, humor make Peter’s video blogs really special.  Plus he’s a motorcycle fiend, so you gotta love him.