I’ve made it back, safe and sound, from Goat Lake (in the Pioneer Mountains). Highest mountain lake in Idaho at about 10,500 ft. What a trip! A huge thanks goes out to my bud Trevor who dragged this city slicker in the great outdoors!

trail-approach-small.JPG
As soon as we started there was a storm on the way…

Then it hit! Loudest thunder ever, since it was right over our heads…

storm-small.JPG
This picture sucks because the camera was tethered to my hip and I couldn’t see what I was doing. The white spots are marble-sized hail.

hike-in.JPG
Here is a shot of the unnamed peak on the way in.

meadow-small.JPG
Here is the approach to Standhope peak (11,800 ft). Goat Lake is to the left of it.

baptie-lake.JPG
Here is the lake we wanted to camp in, Baptie Lake. We ended up staying in the valley instead because of bad weather

self-portrait2.jpg
Relaxing at camp, here’s me enjoying two of my favorite things. Meat and beer!

stand-hope2.JPG
The we finally made it to Goat Lake!! Way up there at about 10,500 ft.a

goat-lake-mirror.JPG
The back side of the lake offers a very interesting view!

goat-lake.JPG
T-rev was the man. He hiked almost to the top of Standhope and captured this killer shot! There’s a tiny splotch in the blue box.

me.JPG
Here’s a blow-up. That’s me below and to the right of the rock. This give you an idea of how far away he got!

And for the grand finale, T-rev’s Panorama from near the top of Standhope. Enjoy!

panorama3.jpg